European Union Law - Jersey's status in respect of EC Law

Extent: Jersey
Updated: 20 September 2019


Words you may need to know


European Union - A group of countries which have entered into a common agreement on trade and the movement of people amongst other things


EU market - The EU market refers to members within the European Union. Most of these countries use the euro and have free trade and little travel restrictions between countries. You can do business with EU markets if you live outside them but if you locate your business or offices in an EU market there are bonuses such as Ireland where corporation tax is very low at 12%


EEA - The European Economic Area (EEA) provides for the free movement of persons, goods, services and capital within the internal market of the European Union (EU) between its 28 member states, as well as three of the four member states of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA): Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

Jersey and the European Union

Jersey has a special relationship with the European Union (EU). In simple terms, the Island is treated as part of the European Community or EU market for the purposes of free trade in goods, but otherwise is not a part of the EU.

However, the Channel Islands Brussels Office (CIBO) ensures that Jersey’s interests are promoted in Europe. As well as representing Jersey to EU institutions, CIBO also advises the States of Jersey on EU policy issues.

Click here for the   Channel Islands Brussels Office website

Customs and immigration relationship with Europe

Jersey's relationship with the European Union (EU) was agreed when the UK became a full member. The main impacts relating to customs and immigration are:

·        VAT does not apply in Jersey as the Island is not part of the European Union tax area

·        Nationals from the EU and European Economic Area (EEA) are free to come and live and work in Jersey subject to local housing requirements

List of EU and EEA countries

The 28 EU countries are:

·       Austria (1995)

·       Belgium (1958)

·       Bulgaria (2007)

·       Croatia (2013)

·       Cyprus (2004)

·       Czech Republic (2004)

·       Denmark (1973)

·       Estonia (2004)

·       Finland (1995)

·       France (1958)

·       Germany (1958)

·       Greece (1981)

·       Hungary (2004)

·       Ireland (1973)

·       Italy (1958)

·       Latvia (2004)

·       Lithuania (2004)

·       Luxembourg (1958)

·       Malta (2004)

·       Netherlands (1958)

·       Poland (2004)

·       Portugal (1986)

·       Romania (2007)

·       Slovakia (2004)

·       Slovenia (2004)

·       Spain (1986)

·       Sweden (1995)

·       United Kingdom (1973)

On the road to EU membership

Candidate countries

·       Albania

·       Montenegro

·       Serbia

·       The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

·       Turkey


Potential candidates

·       Bosnia and Herzegovina

·       Kosovo *
* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence


Joining the EU

Becoming a member of the EU is a complex procedure which does not happen overnight. Once an applicant country meets the conditions for membership, it must put in place EU rules and regulations in all areas.

 The three EEA countries are:

·   Norway

·   Iceland

·   Liechtenstein